

# LOCATION

# Romania is a country located at the intersection of Central and Southeastern Europe



# AREA AND POPULATION

At 238,400 square kilometers, Romania is the eighth largest country of European Union by area, and has the seventh largest population of the European Union with more than 19 million people.



# **BORDERS**

Romania shares a border with Hungary and Serbia to the west, Ukraine and Moldova to the northeast and east, and Bulgaria to the south.



# **RELIEF**

Romania's terrain is distributed roughly equally between mountainous, hilly and plain. The Carpathians Mountains dominate the centre of Romania. These are surrounded by the Moldavian and Transylvanian plateaus and Pannonian and Wallachian plains.



#### NATURAL ENVIRONMENT

Romania's geographical diversity has led to an accompanying diversity of flora and fauna A high percentage (47% of the land area) of the country is covered with natural and seminatural ecosystems.







#### **HISTORY**

The earliest written evidence of people living in the territory of present-day Romania, the Getae, comes from Herodotus in his *Histoires* book IV (c. 440 BC)

Roman incursions during the years 101–102 AD and 105–106 AD under Trajan, who successfully defeated Dacia and annexed its southwestern parts to the vast

Roman Empire

In the Middle Ages, Romanians lived in three districts: Wallachia, Moldavia and Transylvania.

In 1859 the electors in both Moldavia and Wallachia chose in 1859 the same leader – Alexandru Ioan Cuza – to be

their Ruling Prince.



In a 1866 coup d'état, Cuza was exiled and replaced by Prince Karl of Hohenzollern-Sigmaringen who became known as Prince Carol I of Romania.

In 1947, the communists forced King Michael I to abdicate and leave the country, and proclaimed Romania a people's republic.





From 1947 to 1989, the country was ruled by a the Communist government After the revolution, in 1989 the country begin a new way of development on democracy.

The country is governed on the basis of multi-party democratic system and of the segregation of the legislative, executive and judicial powers.





# NATO & EUROPEAN UNION

Romania joined <u>NATO</u> on 29 March 2004, and <u>the European Union</u> on I January

2007.





# **ADMINISTRATIVE DIVISIONS**

Romania is divided into 41 counties and the municipality of Bucharest. Each county is administered by a county council, responsible for local affairs, as well as a prefect responsible for the administration of national affairs at the county level.



# **BUCURESTI**

Bucuresti, is the capital municipality, cultural, industrial, and financial centre of Romania.

Bucharest is the 10th largest city in the European Union by population.











# Bucuresti – new architecture

















